Qianmen Street，located at the central axis of Beijing City, is a famous pedestrian street. It runs from Jianlou (the Archery Tower) of Zhengyangmen in the north to the turning of Tiantan Park in the south. Qianmen Street is 840 meters (about 919 yards) in length and 21 meters (about 23 yards) in width. It is composed with buildings whose style resembles the late Qing Dynasty.
Qianmen Street has history of more than 570 years. It was called Zhengyangmen Street during the Ming and Qing Dynasties, and finally named Qianmen Street in 1965. During the Qing Dynasty, it was such as a meat market, cloth market and jewelry market. Moreover, there were many craftsman workshops, warehouses and theatres in the Hutongs nearby.
Qianmen Street reopened on August 7th after more than one year's renovation. It is a symbol of genuine Beijing local culture. Qianmen Street has many of China's time-honored names. Visitors can enjoy a traditional Chinese way of life. Moreover, Qianmen Street has many international brands, such as H&M, Haagen-Dazs, Sephora, ZARA, Qggle, COSTS CAFÉ, and SK Jewelry. The most famous of China own names are as follows: QuanJude, Yitiaolong, Douyichu, and Changchuntang.
With roast duck taking the leading role, QuanJude has formed its regional cuisine with the feast of whole duck and more than 400 special dishes. People all over the world enjoy it. Yitiaolong restaurant (original name was Yitiaolong mutton restaurant) is an authentic Muslim restaurant. It was first open to the public in 1785. The representative dishes are Golden Fried Prawns, Braised Ox Tail in Brown Sauce, fried crisp chicken, and so on.
Douyichu, with history of 250 years, was evolved from a tavern. It is said that the name was granted by Emperor Qianlong (1711-1799) of the Qing Dynasty. Now this restaurant mainly offers baked wheat cake, fried dishes and roast dark. Changchuntang is a drugstore, which has a history of more than 200 years. It deals in the Chinese traditional and western medicine, and provides patrons, pharmaceuticals via postal delivery services.
Besides, Dangdang Che (trams) is also worthy of being mentioned. They were first introduced to Beijing in 1924, running from Qianmen to Xizhimen. In 1966, they were abandoned. Due to advanced technology, two of them have returned at Qianmen Street as sightseeing cars. With the same look of the old ones, they start from the opposite ends of the street. Each one can accommodate up to 84 visitors at a time.